Skip to content

5 Black Ferns stars absent as Tremendous Rugby Aupiki squads introduced

  • by

The 2023 Tremendous Rugby Aupiki squads have been launched this week and whereas the ever-growing expertise pool and fandom of New Zealand girls’s rugby could have made means for a barely expanded competitors, some headline names have been notably lacking from the rosters.

These names in fact embody the departing Kendra Cocksedge, who after a traditionally profitable provincial and worldwide profession, hung up the boots following the Black Ferns World Cup victory.

However the important thing absentees have been the Black Ferns Sevens stars; Portia Woodman, Ruby Tui, Stacey Fluhler, Theresa Fitzpatrick and Sarah Hirini. An unlucky conflict in schedule has the Canadian leg of the World Sevens circuit falling throughout the second spherical of the Aupiki season.

Video Spacers

Fan favourite Ruby Tui is reportedly nonetheless contemplating her choices for subsequent yr and NZR common supervisor skilled rugby and efficiency Chris Lendrum expressed the governing physique’s assist for Tui both means, implying a roster spot on Tui’s Chiefs Manawa remains to be on the desk for the star outdoors again.

If Tui is to return to her sisterhood of the Black Ferns Sevens, there’s an abundance of thrilling expertise trying to fill her boots and comply with in her footsteps as breakthrough participant of the yr, with 28 rookies to function between the 4 Tremendous Rugby Aupiki sides.

The Tremendous Rugby Aupiki event kicks off on February twenty fifth with three rounds performed earlier than the semi finals and finals – which is able to happen on March twenty fifth at FMG Stadium in Hamilton.

Listed here are the groups as introduced:

Forwards: Alakoka Po’oi, Charmaine McMenamin, Cheyenne Tuli-Fale, Chryss Viliko, Dajian Brown, Eloise Blackwell, Grace Gago, Joanna Fanene Lolo, Letelemalanuola Lavea, Liana Mikaele-Tu’u, Maama Vaipulu, Maiakawanakaulani Roos, Sophie Fisher, Shannon Leota , Tafito Lafaele,

Backs: Ariana Bayler, Holly Williams, Jaymie Kolose, Katelyn Vaha’akolo, Kiritapu Demant, Krysten Cottrell, Melanie Puckett, Patricia Maliepo, Ruahei Demant, Brand I Pulotu Lemapu Atai’i (Sylvia) Brunt, Tara Turner

Key Features: Ariana Bayler (Chiefs Manawa), Katelyn Vahaakolo (League), Kiritapu Demant.

On the transfer: Aroha Savage (Hurricanes Poua), Charmaine Smith (Chiefs Manawa), Cristo Tofa, Krystal Murray (Hurricanes Poua), Theresa Fitzpatrick (Sevens)

Chiefs Manawa:
Forwards: Angel Mulu, Awhina Tangen-Wainohu, Charmaine Smith, Chelsea Bremner, Chyna Hohepa, Dhys Faleafaga, Grace Houpapa-Barrett, Kelsie Wills, Kennedy Simon, Luka Connor, Pia Tapsell, Santo Taumata, Tanya Kalounivale, Te Urupounamu McGarvey, Tynealle Fitzgerald, Victoria Makea

Backs: Amanda Rasch, Arihiana Marino-Tauhinu, Azalleyah Maaka, Carla Hohepa, Chelsea Semple, Georgia Daals, Hazel Tubic, Langi Veainu, Merania Paraone, Mererangi Paul, Renee Wickliffe, Violet Hapi-Smart

Key Features: Amanda Rasch (Hurricanes Poua), Chelsea Bremner (Matat?), Charmaine Smith (Blues), Dhys Faleafaga

On the transfer: Ariana Bayler (Blues), Kelly Brazier (Sevens), Les Elder (Retired), Maia Joseph (Injured), Portia Woodman (Sevens), Rugby Tui (TBC), Stacey Fluhler (Sevens)

Hurricanes Poua:
Forwards: Aroha Savage, Cilia-Marie Po’e-Tofaeono, Cristo Tofa, Jackie Patea-Fereti, Joanah Ngan-Woo, Kahurangi Sturmey, Kaipo Olsen-Baker, Krystal Murray, Layla Sae, Leilani Perese, Maddie Feaunati, Rhiarna Ferris, Rachel Rakatau , Saphire Abraham, Te Kura Ngata-Aerengamate.

Backs: Ayesha Leti-I’iga, Bernadette Robertson, Carys Dallinger, Crystal Mayes, Iritana Hohaia, Isabella Waterman, Milly Mackey, Monica Tagoai, Teilah Ferguson, Victoria Subritzky-Nafatali.

Key Features: Aroha Savage (Blues), Cilia-Marie Po’e-Tofaeono (Blues), Cristo Tofa (Blues), Isabella Waterman (Matat?), Krystal Murray (Blues)

On the transfer: Amanda Rasch (Chiefs), Cheyelle Robins-Reti (Matat?)

Forwards: Alana Bremner, Amy Rule, Atlanta Lolohea, Cindy Nelles, Emma Dermody, Georgia Ponsonby, Kendra Reynolds, Leah Miles, Lucy Jenkins, Marcelle Parkes, Moomooga (Ona) Palu, Natalie Delamere, Phillipa Love, Sera Naiqama, Steph Te Ohaere Fox.

Backs: Amy Du Plessis, Charntay Poko, Chey Robins-Reti, Cheyenne Cunningham, Di Hiini, Georgia Cormick, Grace Brooker, Grace Steinmetz, Martha Mataele, Renee Holmes, Rosie Kelly, TeRauoriwa Gapper.

Key Features: Atlanta Lolohea, Georgia Cormick, Charntay Poko, Sera Naiqama (SuperW), Cheyelle Robins-Reti (Hurricanes Poua), Cheyenne Cunningham, Cindy Nelles (Blues), Leah Miles.

On the transfer: Kendra Cocksedge (Retired), Chelsea Bremner (Chiefs Manawa), Isabelle Waterman (Hurricanes Poua), Kilistina Vea (parental depart), Liv McGoverne (Exeter Chiefs).

Launch/Tremendous Rugby

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *