Skip to content

Onyejekwe and Poindexter Headline Soccer All-ODAC Awards

  • by

FOREST, Va. – The Washington and Lee College soccer staff collected 10 postseason Previous Dominion Athletic Convention Awards, together with two main awards, for the primary time since 2017, as introduced by the convention on Tuesday afternoon.

A complete of 68 gamers throughout the convention appeared on the lists and eight Generals have been honored headlined by the Lou Wacker Defensive Participant of the Yr, David Onyejekwe (Falls Church, Va. / McLean) and the ODAC/Virginia Farm Bureau Scholar-Athlete of the Yr, Robert Poindexter (Atlanta, Ga. / Lovett).

Onyejekwe, a senior from Falls Church, Va., is now a two-time All-ODAC First Crew honoree. Onyejekwe was an ever-present power for Washington and Lee’s protection as he completed with 72 complete tackles, seventh-best within the convention. That included 33 solo stops and 4.0 tackles for a loss that value opponents 9 yards of offense. He broke up three complete passes and hauled in a single interception. Onyejekwe posted three video games of 11 or extra tackles, together with a career-high 12 stops in a late-season loss (13-6) at Bridgewater.

Onyejekwe is joined by offensive lineman Tyler Halliday (Virginia Seaside, Va. / Tallwood) and Logan Moyer (Germantown, Md. / Quince Orchard) on the First Crew. Each seniors, Moyer and Onyejekwe obtain the First Crew honors for the second consecutive season and the distinction marks the primary for the junior Halliday.

Halliday and Moyer helped pave the way in which for the Generals’ floor sport which posted 2,840 yards this season in 574 makes an attempt (4.8 YPC), 273.3 yards per sport and 30 dashing touchdowns. The W&L quarterback room was solely sacked as soon as all season.

Poindexter, a senior from Atlanta, Ga., stars each on and off the sphere for Washington and Lee. Within the classroom, Poindexter is an economics main with a minor in arithmetic. The 2021 and 2022 CoSIDA Educational All-District honoree is a three-time member of the ODAC All-Educational Crew and six-time W&L Scholar-Athlete. The President’s Record winner is a member of Phi Eta Sigma honor society and a bunch chief for the Williams Funding Group, which manages a portion of W&L’s endowment. He has accomplished an internship at a non-public fairness agency in addition to with Truist Monetary.

A two-time staff captain, Poindexter pairs the Scholar-Athlete honor with a range to the All-ODAC Second Crew this 12 months following a primary staff choice in 2021. He registered 39 complete tackles with 14 solo stops. He posted 6.0 tackles for loss that value opponents 23 yards of offense. That included 3.0 sacks for 15 yards. Poindexter additionally compelled a fumble and broke up two passes.

Sophomore linebacker One Christopher (Fredericksburg, Va. / Massaponax) and junior defensive again Ronny Williams (Douglasville, Ga. / Holy Innocents’ Episcopal) be part of Poindexter with Second Crew All-ODAC laurels on the defensive facet of the ball.

Christopher posted 27 tackles which included 8.5 tackles for loss to push again the opposing offense 23 yards and 1.5 sacks for six yards along with one cross break-up and a fumble restoration. Williams was a ball hawk all 12 months and broke up 4 passes, grabbed an interception and compelled a fumble. Within the 10 video games, he averaged 3.7 tackles per sport with 18 solo and 19 assisted tackles.

All function again Alex Wertz (Sterling, Va. / Dominion) and senior defensive lineman Mustafa Alkhatib (Lawrenceville, Ga. / Discovery) garnered All-ODAC Third Crew at-large choices.

Fifth 12 months rusher, Wertz led the offense with a team-high 719 yards on 140 makes an attempt by eight video games this 12 months and scored eight touchdowns. He averaged 5.1 YPC and just below 90 yards per contest. Within the air, he added seven catches for 49 yards.

Alkhatib stuffed up the center of the defensive position with 12 complete tackles, a cross defended and a fumble restoration. The protection held opponents to simply 14.4 factors and 297.6 yards of complete offense per sport because of Alkhatib’s means to shrink the pocket.

Max Garrett ’18 was the final participant to win main awards for the Generals soccer program, he gained each defensive participant of the 12 months and scholar-athlete of the 12 months accolades in 2017.


J. Stokeley Fulton Offensive Participant of the Yr: Drew Campanale, Jr., QB, Randolph-Macon
Lou Wacker Defensive Participant of the Yr: David OnyejekweSr., LB, Washington and Lee
ODAC Coach of the Yr: Pedro Arruza, Randolph Macon
ODAC Rookie of the Yr: Mason Cunningham, Fy., APB, Hampden-Sydney
ODAC/Va. Farm Bureau Insurance coverage Scholar-Athlete: Robert PoindexterSr., DL, Washington and Lee


Drew Campanale Jr. QB Randolph-Macon
Melik Frost Jr. RB Hampden-Sydney
Nick Hale Sr. RB Randolph-Macon
Rashadeen Byrd, Jr.^ Gr. R. B. Shenandoah
Andrew Ihle Sr. APB Randolph-Macon
Three Alexander^ Sr. W. R. Guilford
David Wallis+ Sr. W. R. Randolph-Macon
David Byler Sr. TE Hampden-Sydney
TJ Minter* Jr. OL Hampden-Sydney
Will Jackson* Sr. OL Randolph-Macon
Nehemiah Nixon^ Sr. OL Randolph-Macon
Tyler Halliday Jr. OL Washington and Lee
Logan Moyer* Sr. OL Washington and Lee

Jackson Hendren^ So. Okay Bridgewater


Jonathan Terrell Sr. DL Averett
Tucker Harris So. DL Bridgewater
Wade Grubbs So. DL Randolph-Macon
Mason Caldwell* Sr. DL Shenandoah
Shawn Harris Sr LB Bridgewater
Jackson Deaver Jr. LB Randolph-Macon
Ben Burgan^ Sr LB Shenandoah
David Onyejekwe* Sr LB Washington and Lee
Aaron Moore Jr. DB Bridgewater
Will Pickren* Jr. DB Hampden-Sydney
Cade Jones Sr DB Randolph-Macon
Keyshawn Wilder Jr. DB Shenandoah
Garrett Graves* Sr P Bridgewater


Tanner Bernard* Sr QB Hampden-Sydney
Kwesi Clarke Jr. R. B. Randolph-Macon
Mason Cunningham fy. APB Hampden-Sydney
Austin Fernandez So. WR Hampden-Sydney
Ethan Bigbee Sr. W. R. Shenandoah
Carter Runyon+ I do know. TE Shenandoah
Matthew Isom Jr. OL Averett
Glory Nseka So.. OL Bridgewater
Matt Hale^ Sr. OL Randolph-Macon
Dominic Gulli Jr. OL Shenandoah
David Munoz^ Jr. OL Shenandoah
Scott Martin So. Okay Shenandoah


Michael Harris^ Sr. DL Hampden-Sydney
Jacob Hutchinson^ Sr. DL Randolph-Macon
Ethan Brown Jr. D. L. Shenandoah
Robert Poindexter* Sr. D. L. Washington and Lee
Lamar Horner So. LB Averett
Aaron Good fy. LB Bridgewater
Erik Harris+ Sr LB Randolph-Macon
One Christopher So. LB Washington and Lee
Avion Smith Jr. DB Ferrum
Adam Lacy Sr. DB Guilford
James-Ryan Salvi Jr. DB Hampden-Sydney
Ronny Williams Jr. DB Washington and Lee
Mason Smith Jr. P Averett


Steven Hughney QB Shenandoah
Monzelle Campbell So. APB Ferrum
Alex Wertz ^ Sr. APB Washington and Lee
Viante Tucker Mr. W. R. Bridgewater
Eric Mays Sr. W. R. Guilford
Joey Hunt Sr. W. R. Randolph-Macon
Ricky Mayfield+ Sr TE Randolph-Macon
Storm James Jr. OL Randolph-Macon


TJ James Sr. DL Randolph-Macon
Jordan Rice+ Gr. DL Shenandoah
Mustafa Alkhatib + Sr. D. L. Washington and Lee
Nick Iannone fy. LB Guilford
Matt Conroy fy. LB Shenandoah
Isaiah Sharper Sr. DB Averett
Val West+ Jr. DB Bridgewater
What number of Redd Jr. DB Shenandoah

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *